Foto's

Photographer's Note

Google translate

Institute for Art History
Herengracht 286 - Amsterdam
In this place on the Herengracht canal houses were three to 1921. These were demolished to make way for the headquarters of the Deli Maatschappij Batavia. The building was designed by the brothers. Van Gendt. The rectangular office building has four floors. At the front, the building is covered by a German so-called broken roof, a special form of a mansard. The facade looks classical but also contemporary by the Amsterdam School and the detail in that style. The staircase is lined with subtle gray-blue glazed ceramic. For the wainscoting, railings and column cladding is used a decorative element, namely an oval with a fitted golf motif. Stairs and hallway have glazed tiles and stained-glass windows made ​​by W. Bogtman. Since 1965, the building owned by the University of Amsterdam. Since 1990 it houses the Institute for Art History with an extensive library.
Type: House
Subtype: Canal
Date: 1921
Architect: A.L. van Gendt
Status: monument
Original function: Canal House
Current position: University

besnard heeft deze opmerking als nuttig gemarkeerd

Photo Information
Viewed: 1595
Points: 6
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Csaba Witz (csabagaba) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 617 W: 172 N: 1499] (7018)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH