Foto's

Photographer's Note

The church was probably built between 1258 and 1268. Originally a Franciscan monastery, it was then dedicated to St. Nicholas (Sw. Mikolaja). It is very likely that the monastery, including a small chapel, was built considerably earlier than the church. The Grey Friars held the church and the monastery until 1430, the year in which they were forced to leave Bytom. The church and the other buildings were given over to Bernardines. It was probably them who reinforced the original timber structures with stone walls. Over the ages, the church was destroyed and rebuilt many times. In 1783 it underwent a major renovation, receiving a Baroque outfit; also, a nave, a porch, and a tower were added. Upon secularization of ecclesiastical property, the brethren had to abandon the site -- the church was transformed into a warehouse, and the monastery was first turned into to a military hospital and next, in 1816, into a school. In 1833 the church was taken over by Protestants, and after World War II returned to Catholics; in 1952 Grey Friars made it their home again.

The monastery no longer exists. In its place now stands a Secession-style school building from 1902, designed by K.Bruegger. Across the square loom the picturesque Deaconess House built in 1898, originally intended to host deaconesses engaged in the social work of the evangelical parish, and the evangelical parish house erected around 1830 and subsequently remodeled in 1910.

http://www.um.bytom.pl

Nobody heeft deze opmerking als nuttig gemarkeerd

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Slawomir Choroszewski (gedeon_bytom) (15)
  • Genre: Plaatsen
  • Medium: Kleur
  • Date Taken: 2006-07-05
  • Belichting: f/6.6
  • More Photo Info: view
  • Fotoversie: Originele versie
  • Date Submitted: 2006-07-05 14:43
Viewed: 919
Points: 2
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Slawomir Choroszewski (gedeon_bytom) (15)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH