Foto's

Photographer's Note

The main church of the monastery, built in either 1654–7 or 1108–13, was an important architectural and cultural monument. Originally it had three naves and three apses on the eastern side and was topped by a single large gilded cupola. It was rebuilt in a baroque style and expanded with a new fašade and six additional cupolas in the 18th century. The most striking elements of the interior were the 12th century frescoes and mosaics (such as the Angel mosaic), probably done by Kyivan artisans.

Nobody heeft deze opmerking als nuttig gemarkeerd

Photo Information
Viewed: 2102
Points: 2
Additional Photos by Ivan Evgrafoff (Exposure) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 27 W: 4 N: 25] (725)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH