Foto's

Photographer's Note

The Santa Cruz Fortress, one of the best examples of colonial Portuguese architecture, was first set up as a battery of cannons in 1555 by the french naval officer Nicolas Durand de Villegaignon, taken by the portuguese forces twelve years later.
In the 16th century, during its construction, the wall's rocks were cut, numbered and brought from Portugal. In the two centuries that followed, the fortress went through expansion constructions. In 1730, with 135 cannons, it was the main defense unit for the city of Rio.
It's open to visitors nowadays.

This second pix of mine showing the fortress was also taken from a sailboat. In the background the famous Sugar Loaf rock.

Nobody heeft deze opmerking als nuttig gemarkeerd

Photo Information
Viewed: 2841
Points: 10
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Celso Marino (cmarino) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 441 W: 151 N: 323] (2490)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH