Foto's

Photographer's Note

South of Amoreiras
Bus no. 11, 23. Check opening-hours at the Turismo.
Opened in 1748 to supply water from the Águas Livres in Caneças to the Casa da Agua in Amoreiras, a distance of more than 18 kilometres.
Constructed by the architects Manuel da Maia and Custodio José Vieira, it is one of the most baroque monuments the capital possesses. Although partly subterranean, the visible stretch obliged the engineers to erect 109 stone arches.
Due to the type of soil in Alcántara valley, they were forced to build 14 cone-shaped arches. For more than two centuries, these arches have never failed to impress those who look at them. The aqueduct can be seen in all its dimension from several points of the city.

jezsuzsa heeft deze opmerking als nuttig gemarkeerd

Photo Information
Viewed: 2997
Points: 2
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Paulo Vaz (apivaz) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 96 W: 5 N: 78] (1902)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH